Athlete of the Month

June 2017 – Mike Henry

Nickname:
Henry (does that count?), “Onree” from hockey

Age:
32

Occupation:
IT Program Manager

In general, what is your background?
Grew up in Naperville, IL and then went to Purdue for college. Fitness wise, I grew up playing just about every sport that I could but mainly focused on Football, Hockey, and Lacrosse.

How long have you been a member at our gym, how did you learn about CF and why did you start?
I’ve kind of lost track at this point, but believe I just passed my 5 year mark at CF312. I was traveling quite a bit so stuck to P90X as it was something I could bring on the road with me. As I stopped traveling, I wanted to amp up my training a bit and came across CF312.

How has being a member at 312 changed your life/lifestyle/level of fitness?
In general, I have become far more aware and educated about my overall health and fitness. It has also expanded my horizon on different challenges that I probably wouldn’t have done prior to starting crossfit.

Short term goals (gym and/or personal):
Get muscle-ups back on track.

Long term goals (gym and/or personal):
Hit the 500# deadlift club. Complete Sealfit Kokoro (looking for someone to join me).

What do you like most about being a member at 312?
It’s cliché, but the people. It’s a great group of people that love to work hard, but probably play even harder.

Favorite and least favorite movements:
Favorites are deadlifts, back squats, and handstand pushups. Least favorite are overhead squats, muscle-ups, and double unders.

Favorite and least favorite WODs:
Favorite would be Murph and Diane. Least favorite is anything with Overhead Squats.

Favorite post-WOD meal:
Grilled chicken and veggies with rice.

Favorite movies:
Departed and Blackhawk Down

Favorite book:
Usually can’t still for long enough to read a book. Can’t even tell you the last book I read.

Favorite artist:
Pantera

Favorite quote or words you live by?
Not too big on quotes.

What are a few of your most notable achievements?
Not too much for the record books, but graduating Purdue was a big achievement. Only took me 5 years…

I’m passionate about:
Family, friends, sports, fitness, and my pup.

Fun fact that we don’t know about you:
I was in a heavy metal band in high school. We sucked, but had a good time.