June 2019 - Amanda Schaumann | CrossFit 312

June 2019 – Amanda Schaumann

Nickname: Moon
Age: 31

In general, what is your background?
I grew up in Plymouth, MI – just outside of Ann Arbor. I went to Purdue for college and then lived in Pittsburgh before moving to Chicago seven years ago.  Now I work in Healthcare Supply Chain for a Chicagoland Hospital system.

How long have you been a member at our gym, how did you learn about CF and why did you start?
I joined 312 about seven months ago in November of 2018.  I was looking to change up my workouts after doing the marathon and realizing that I hated running distances. The gym was within walking distance from my house so I thought I would give it a try and was instantly hooked.

How has being a member at 312 changed your life/lifestyle/level of fitness?
Becoming a morning workout person. For the first time in my life, I’ve been able to develop a routine that involves working out before work.  Not only do I feel myself getting stronger, I have more energy throughout the day.

Short term goals (gym and/or personal):
Continue to work on the barbell movements and feel comfortable with all the lifts.

Long term goals (gym and/or personal):
To finally be able to get my first Pull-Up

What do you like most about being a member at 312?
The community.  I don’t think I would make it most mornings if I didn’t know that the rest of the 6:30am crew would be there.

Favorite and least favorite movements:
Favorite: Squats, Burpees, Rowing
Least Favorite: Snatches and Running

Favorite and least favorite WODs:
Favorite: Partner WODs
Least Favorite: Anything that involves running

Favorite post-WOD meal:
Usually a protein shake.

Favorite movies:
It’s a Wonderful Life

Favorite book:
Bad Blood

Favorite artist:
Zac Brown Band, Kacey Musgraves, Brandi Carlile

Favorite quotes or words you live by?
Remain Flexible. Be Determined to Succeed.

If you ain’t weird, you’re weird.

What are a few of your most notable achievements?
Finishing my MBA and Masters in Supply Chain while working full time.

I’m passionate about:
My dog, my family, learning new things every day.

Fun fact that we don’t know about you:
I love to cook from scratch when I have the time especially home-made Detroit style pizza.