September 2019 - Aaron Bullock | CrossFit 312

September 2019 – Aaron Bullock

Name:  Aaron Bullock

Nickname: Double A

Age: 29

In general, what is your background? I grew up in a small Atlanta suburb. Growing up I played Soccer, ran cross country and was on the swim team. After high school I went to college in North Carolina at Wake Forest University (Go Deacs!). I majored in business and minored in anthropology. Post college I got a marketing analytics job in the Chicago suburbs and moved to the city. 7 years later, I work at Gogo in product management and live in the West Loop.

How long have you been a member at our gym, how did you learn about CF and why did you start? I’ve been a member since March. At that time, I wasn’t really happy with the results from my existing workout regiment, so I was looking for other options. One of my co-workers who competes in CrossFit competitions suggested I give a CrossFit gym a try. I went to my first session and was hooked.

How has being a member at 312 changed your life/lifestyle/level of fitness? Over the past 6 months at 312 I have really had a transformation about how I think about my fitness / lifestyle. I have been more committed to going to the gym than I ever have (and I’m motivated to go before work). The increased focus on fitness has also inspired me to improve my diet.

Short term goals (gym and/or personal): Continue making it to the 6 AM workout class and be able to hold a handstand not on the wall.

Long term goals (gym and/or personal): Just continue to get stronger. Particularly increasing my squat weight.

What do you like most about being a member at 312? I enjoy the competitive atmosphere. I feel like I get more out of my workouts because I am motivated to perform better against others. The support and encouragement from other members is also a huge plus.

Favorite and least favorite movements:
Favorite: Squats
Least Favorite: Toes to Bar

Favorite and least favorite WODs:
Favorite: Longer MetCons
Least Favorite: Anything with heavy deadlifts

Favorite post-WOD meal: I generally go to the 6AM class so my post workout meal is breakfast. I’m pretty good about meal prep and can eat the same thing every day. Right now, it consists of a protein shake, scrambled eggs, turkey sausage, sweet potatoes, yogurt and a bagel.

Favorite movies: American Hustle, Boyhood and anything Marvel

Favorite book: Unbroken

Favorite artist: David Bowie, Mumford and Sons, Dermott Kennedy

Favorite quotes or words you live by? Not really a quote guy, but I try to live by the idea of being open to try anything once.

What are a few of your most notable achievements? 1st place in my age group at the Kaiser Coastal 5k 4 of the past 6 years

I’m passionate about: Seeing the world. I’m going to Colombia in December and another trip to Europe in March.

Fun fact that we don’t know about you: I’m a twin and have two younger brothers who are also twins.